Red Hat Certified System Administrator in Red Hat OpenStack: What Lies behind The New Name?

By | February 12, 2014

red hat, system administrator, openstack, red hat certificates of expertise,  it certification examsIf you are interested in Red Hat’s Certificate of Expertise in Infrastructure-as-a-Service, you won’t find it on the company’s website anymore. No, it wasn’t phased out or anything: Red Hat has renamed this certification to Red Hat Certified System Administrator in Red Hat OpenStack.

According to this North Carolina based vendor, the name has been the only change, made to better reflect the nature of this credential, and to align more closely to the job role typical candidates have, which is system administrator. The company also wanted to make it clear that Red Hat OpenStack is the technology, delivered in Red Hat Enterprise Linux OpenStack Platform. This certification exam curriculum, however remains the same, and so do the training materials.

When the candidate puts Red Hat Certified System Administrator in Red Hat OpenStack credential on their resume, it means they have the skills, knowledge, and abilities to create, configure, and manage private clouds using Red Hat Enterprise Linux® OpenStack® Platform, including:

  • Installing and configuring Red Hat Enterprise Linux OpenStack Platform.
  • Demonstrating excellent project management skills
  • Configuring and managing images.
  • Adding compute nodes.
  • Managing storage using Swift and Cinder.

To achieve the Red Hat Certified System Administrator in Red Hat OpenStack certification, candidates need to pass Red Hat’s EX210 exam. This is a 3 hour performance based exam where candidates need to perform a variety of hand-on tasks. Those who have taken Red Hat exams before probably know that the company is all about practical tasks and real world experiences (which is great for your future career and real-life job, if you ask us!)

And here’s what Red Hat says about the exam requirements (no formal prerequisites and down-to-earth realistic approach make us love Red Hat!)

  • There are no restrictions on eligibility to take this exam.
  • All Red Hat Certificate of Expertise exams are performance-based, meaning that candidates must perform tasks on a live system, rather than answering questions about how someone might perform those tasks.
  • Real-world experience is the best preparation for this hands-on exam.

Leave a Reply