MCSA Office 365: Another Path to MCSE Communication, Messaging or SharePoint

By | August 15, 2014

mcsa office 365, mcse communication, mcse, mcse sharepoint, mcse messaging, lync, it certification examsGreat news for those considering an MCSE: Communication, Messaging or SharePoint. Microsoft has just added the MCSA Office 365 as one of prerequisites for those MCSEs. Until recently, candidates interested in pursuing one of the three MCSE certifications needed to have achieved an MCSA: Windows Server 2012.

Yet, as the software landscape is quickly changing and more and more professionals work with Office 365 and other cloud-based solutions, the MCSA Office 365 seems like a great option for the professionals interested in these MCSEs.

So, now, you can satisfy the prerequisites for pursuing these three MCSE certifications (Communication, Messaging or SharePoint) by having either an MCSA: Windows Server 2012 or MCSA: Office 365. So now professionals can choose the path that best meets your career path or organization’s needs. Taking the MCSA: Office 365 path to your MCSE is a great choice if your organization is considering, or has deployed, cloud-based solutions. For those who focus on deploying on-premise, MCSA: Windows Server 2012 is still the path for you.

Which MCSE should you choose?

MCSE: Communications (Lync) credential  proves that you have the core skills to manage a Lync Server 2013 infrastructure. This advanced Lync Server certification validates your unified communications (UC) expertise in creating a consistent communications experience for your organization.

Achieving MCSE: Communication certification validates your ability to plan, design, deploy, and manage Lync Server 2013 in an environment that includes legacy services and Lync Online. It confirms that you can translate business requirements into technical architecture and design for a UC solution, and it verifies your skills around IM, presence conferencing, and Persistent Chat.

MCSE: Communications (Lync) Required exams: 346, 347, 336, 337.

MCSE: Messaging (Exchange) credential validates your skills and capabilities of managing an Exchange 2013 infrastructure. This advanced Microsoft Exchange certification validates your ability to install, configure, and support Exchange messaging deployments in a real-world business context.

Achieving MCSE: Messaging certification confirms your knowledge of configuring transport, the mailbox role, and Client Access, and it confirms your understanding of unified messaging, site resiliency, security, archival, and enterprise deployments for an Exchange environment.

MCSE: Messaging (Exchange) required exams: 346, 347, 341, 342.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE): SharePoint certification proves that you have the core skills to manage a SharePoint infrastructure for organizing, collaborating, and sharing information. This advanced Microsoft SharePoint certification validates your ability to design a SharePoint topology, install and configure SharePoint farms, secure SharePoint deployments, and create web applications and site collections. Achieving MCSE: SharePoint certification confirms that you know how to plan, upgrade, and migrate SharePoint installations.

MCSE: SharePoint required exams: 346, 347, 331, 332.

Interested? Find out more on the Microsoft Learning Website.

Leave a Reply